Vegan | Eco-Friendly | Sustainable 

Food allergies


The difference between animal-free and free-from

Products suitable for vegans may not be suitable for people with food allergies. The same applies to products that are gluten, soya and/or nut-free.

Vegans avoid exploitation of animals, whereas people with allergies need products that do not contain the allergens that affect them. These are separate issues.

The Vegan Society’s viewpoint

There is no legal definition for the term vegan, and The Vegan Society itself agrees that foods labelled as vegan can also carry a ‘may contain’ warning about animal allergens. The risk of cross-contamination can include the allergen simply being in the same facility as the product, even if the areas for preparation or cooking are separate. As more and more foods are produced without animal ingredients, the number of vegan production lines and factories will increase and therefore in time the ‘may contain’ warning could be removed.

A word about cross-contamination 

There are so many factors when it comes to cross-contamination. These include the method of transportation, storage of goods in warehouses, food handling, packaging, and manufacturing processes.

The Iced Vegan errs on the side of caution when it comes to allergens. Even though Trudy herself is vegan and has a strict cleaning schedule, she cannot fully guarantee no cross-contamination, particularly for severe allergy sufferers. Her cakes are however suitable for food intolerances when advised accordingly.

Wedding cake for Dr and Mrs
Vegan by The Iced Vegan

No eggs.  No dairy.  Just great tasting cakes.